Under a Painted Sky

Hear it
By Stacey Lee
Publisher Speak
Under a Painted Sky
Preview: Hear it

From the author of Outrun the Moon, Stacey Lees debut novel is a powerful story about love, friendship, and sacrifice. Perfect for fans of Code Name Verity. This moving novel will captivate you.Buzzfeed.com All Samantha wanted was to move back to New York and pursue her music, which was difficult enough being a Chinese girl in Missouri, 1849. Then her fate takes a turn for the worse after a tragic accident leaves her with nothing and she breaks the law in selfdefense. With help from Annamae, a runaway slave she met at the scene of her crime, the two flee town for the unknown frontier. But life on the Oregon Trail is unsafe for two girls. Disguised as Sammy and Andy, two boys heading for the California gold rush, each search for a link to their past and struggle to avoid any unwanted attention. Until they merge paths with a band of cowboys turned allies, and Samantha cant stop herself from falling for one. But the law is closing in on them and new setbacks come each day, and the girls will quickly learn there are not many places one can hide on the open trail. Winner of the SCBWI Crystal Kite Award An ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults Pick An Amelia Bloomer Book

Read full description [+]
90209 words90,209 words
384 pages384 pages
Lexile 730LLexile 730L
Grade 7 to 12Grade 7 to 12
Age 12-17Age 12-17
Published 2016Published 2016

On Grade Vocabulary:

Show more words [+]

Challenge Words Vocabulary

Show more words [+] View ALL Vocabulary Lessons

Book ISBN:

0147511844

Sample Book Reading logs and activities:
Graphic Organizers - Under a Painted Sky

YEAH. Try it FREE!

Gitf box

Try our 14-day Free Trial to test drive
the booktaco program.

Sign up for a 14-Day Free Trial Not now, thank you
View all games!
Back to main site