The Night Diary

Hear it
By Veera Hiranandani
Publisher Dial Books
The Night Diary
Preview: Hear it

In the vein of Inside Out and Back Again and The War That Saved My Life comes a poignant, personal, and hopeful tale of Indias partition, and of one girls journey to find a new home in a divided countryIts 1947, and India, newly independent of British rule, has been separated into two countries: Pakistan and India. The divide has created much tension between Hindus and Muslims, and hundreds of thousands are killed crossing borders.HalfMuslim, halfHindu twelveyearold Nisha doesnt know where she belongs, or what her country is anymore. When Papa decides its too dangerous to stay in what is now Pakistan, Nisha and her family become refugees and embark first by train but later on foot to reach her new home. The journey is long, difficult, and dangerous, and after losing her mother as a baby, Nisha cant imagine losing her homeland, too. But even if her country has been ripped apart, Nisha still believes in the possibility of putting herself back together.Told through Nishas letters to her mother, The Night Diary is a heartfelt story of one girls search for home, for her own identity...and for a hopeful future.

Read full description [+]
50768 words50,768 words
271 pages271 pages
Lexile 700LLexile 700L
Grade 3 to 7Grade 3 to 7
Age 8-12Age 8-12
Published 2018Published 2018

On Grade Vocabulary:

Show more words [+]

Challenge Words Vocabulary

Show more words [+] View ALL Vocabulary Lessons

Book ISBN:

9780735228535

Sample Book Reading logs and activities:
Graphic Organizers - The Night Diary

YEAH. Try it FREE!

Gitf box

Try our 14-day Free Trial to test drive
the booktaco program.

Sign up for a 14-Day Free Trial Not now, thank you
View all games!
Back to main site