The Monster Next Door

Hear it
By David Soman
Publisher Dial Books
The Monster Next Door
Preview: Hear it

From the creator of Ladybug Girl and Three Bears in a Boat, this funny and endearing tale of friendship found and tested is perfect for fans of The Adventures of Beekle In a big field, a boy has a tree house, and one day, he has a neighbora monster with a talent for silly dances and funny faces. The two become fast friends, even setting up a pulley line to pass notes between their tree houses. The boy knows just how to celebrate this inventionwith music! But the monsters tuba music is loud. Really loud. WAY. TOO. LOUD. Before the boy can think, he hurls a water balloon at his neighbor to get him to stop. An epic waterballoon fight ensues, until the boyfed up, spent, donecuts the pulley line. No more notepassing. No more monster. Can the boy and monster ever be friends again? Does the boy even want to? Maybe he just needs to see things from a new, unexpected perspective.

Read full description [+]
325 words325 words
40 pages40 pages
Lexile AD440LLexile AD440L
Grade P to KGrade P to K
Age 3-5Age 3-5
Published 2016Published 2016

On Grade Vocabulary:

Challenge Words Vocabulary

View ALL Vocabulary Lessons

Book ISBN:

9780525427834

Sample Book Reading logs and activities:
Graphic Organizers - The Monster Next Door

YEAH. Try it FREE!

Gitf box

Try our 14-day Free Trial to test drive
the booktaco program.

Sign up for a 14-Day Free Trial Not now, thank you
View all games!
Back to main site