The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl

Hear it
By Stacy McAnulty
Publisher Random House Books for Young Readers
The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl
Preview: Hear it

Middle school is the one problem Lucy Callahan cant solve in this middlegrade novel perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by 7s.Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesnt remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her geniuslevel math skills, and ever since, Lucy has been homeschooled. Now, at 12 years old, shes technically ready for college. She just has to pass 1 more testmiddle school!Lucys grandma insists: Go to middle school for 1 year. Make 1 friend. Join 1 activity. And read 1 book (thats not a math textbook!). Lucys not sure what a girl who does calculus homework for fun can possibly learn in 7th grade. She has everything she needs at home, where nobody can make fun of her rigid routines or her superpowered brain. The equation of Lucys life has already been solved. Unless theres been a miscalculation?A celebration of friendship, Stacy McAnultys smart and thoughtful middlegrade debut reminds us all to get out of our comfort zones and embrace what makes us different.An engaging story, full of heart and hope. Readers of all ages will root for Lucy, aka Lightning Girl. No miscalculations here! Kate Beasley, author of Gerties Leap to Greatness

Read full description [+]
53952 words53,952 words
304 pages304 pages
Lexile 530LLexile 530L
Grade 3 to 8Grade 3 to 8
Age 8-13Age 8-13
Published 2018Published 2018

On Grade Vocabulary:

Show more words [+]

Challenge Words Vocabulary

Show more words [+] View ALL Vocabulary Lessons

Book ISBN:

9781524767594

Sample Book Reading logs and activities:
Graphic Organizers - The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl

YEAH. Try it FREE!

Gitf box

Try our 14-day Free Trial to test drive
the booktaco program.

Sign up for a 14-Day Free Trial Not now, thank you
View all games!
Back to main site