The Last Fifth Grade of Emerson Elementary

Hear it
By Laura Shovan
Publisher Wendy Lamb Books
The Last Fifth Grade of Emerson Elementary
Preview: Hear it

An awardwinning, bighearted time capsule of one classs poems during a transformative school year. A great pick for fans of Margarita Engle and Eileen Spinelli. Eighteen kids,one year of poems,one school set to close.Two yellow bulldozerscrouched outside,ready to eat the buildingin one greedy gulp. But look out, bulldozers.Ms. Hills fifthgrade classhas plans for you.Theyre going to speak up and work togetherto save their school. Families change and new friendships form as these terrific kids grow up and move on in this whimsical novelinverse about finding your voice and making sure others hear it.Honors and Praise:Winner of a Cybils Award in PoetryAn NCTE Notable Verse NovelA Bank Street College of Education Best Childrens Book of the YearAn ILACBC Childrens ChoiceNominated for the Pennsylvania Young Readers Choice Award, the Wisconsin State Reading Association Childrens Book Award, the Rhode Island Childrens Book Award, and the Great Stone Face Award (New Hampshire) This gently evocative study of change in all its glory and terror would make a terrific readaloud or introduction to a poetry unit. A most impressive debut. School Library JournalSure to inspire the poet in all of us, young and old. Mark Goldblatt, author of Twerp

Read full description [+]
19985 words19,985 words
256 pages256 pages
Lexile NPLexile NP
Grade 3 to 7Grade 3 to 7
Age 8-12Age 8-12
Published 2016Published 2016
View ALL Vocabulary Lessons

Book ISBN:

0553521373

Sample Book Reading logs and activities:
Graphic Organizers - The Last Fifth Grade of Emerson Elementary

YEAH. Try it FREE!

Gitf box

Try our 14-day Free Trial to test drive
the booktaco program.

Sign up for a 14-Day Free Trial Not now, thank you
View all games!
Back to main site