The Day the Crayons Quit

Hear it
By Drew Daywalt
Publisher Philomel Books
The Day the Crayons Quit
Preview: Hear it

The hilarious, colorful #1 New York Times bestselling phenomenon that every kid wants! Gift a copy to someone you love today. Poor Duncan just wants to color. But when he opens his box of crayons, he finds only letters, all saying the same thing: His crayons have had enough! They quit! Beige Crayon is tired of playing second fiddle to Brown Crayon. Black wants to be used for more than just outlining. Blue needs a break from coloring all those bodies of water. And Orange and Yellow are no longer speakingeach believes he is the true color of the sun. What can Duncan possibly do to appease all of the crayons and get them back to doing what they do best?Kids will be imagining their own humorous conversations with crayons and coloring a blue streak after sharing laughs with Drew Daywalt and New York Times bestseller Oliver Jeffers. This story is perfect as a backtoschool gift, for all budding artists, for fans of humorous books such as Dont Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Willems and The True Story of the Three Little Pigs by Jon Sciezka and Lane Smith, and for fans of Oliver Jeffers Stuck, The Incredible Book Eating Boy, Lost and Found, and This Moose Belongs to Me.Praise for The Day the Crayons QuitAmazons 2013 Best Picture Book of the YearA Barnes & Noble Best Book of 2013Goodreads 2013 Best Picture Book of the Year Winner of the E.B. White ReadAloud Award* Hilarious . . . Move over, Click, Clack, Moo; weve got a new contender for the most successful picturebook strike. BCCB, starred review Jeffers . . . elevates crayon drawing to remarkable heights. BooklistFresh and funny. The Wall Street JournalThis book will have children asking to have it read again and again. Library Media Connection* This colorful title should make for an uproarious storytime. School Library Journal, starred review * These memorable personalities will leave readers glancing apprehensively at their own crayon boxes. Publishers Weekly, starred review Utterly original. San Francisco Chronicle

Read full description [+]
899 words899 words
40 pages40 pages
Lexile AD730LLexile AD730L
Grade P to 2Grade P to 2
Age 3-7Age 3-7
Published 2013Published 2013

On Grade Vocabulary:

Challenge Words Vocabulary

View ALL Vocabulary Lessons

Book ISBN:

0399255370

Sample Book Reading logs and activities:
Graphic Organizers - The Day the Crayons Quit

YEAH. Try it FREE!

Gitf box

Try our 14-day Free Trial to test drive
the booktaco program.

Sign up for a 14-Day Free Trial Not now, thank you
View all games!
Back to main site