Roller Girl

Hear it
By Victoria Jamieson
Publisher Dial Books
Roller Girl
Preview: Hear it

The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derbyperfect for fans of Raina Telgemeiers Smile! For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But after Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for derby camp, Nicole decides to go to dance camp instead. And so begins the most difficult summer of Astrids life as she struggles to keep up with the older girls at camp, hang on to the friend she feels slipping away, and cautiously embark on a new friendship. As the end of summer nears and her first roller derby bout (and junior high!) draws closer, Astrid realizes that maybe she is strong enough to handle the bout, a lost friendship, and middle school in short, strong enough to be a roller girl. In this graphic novel debut that earned a Newbery Honor and five starred reviews, reallife derby girl Victoria Jamieson has created an inspiring comingofage story about friendship, perseverence, and girl power!

Read full description [+]
16752 words16,752 words
240 pages240 pages
Lexile GN440LLexile GN440L
Grade 4 to 8Grade 4 to 8
Age 9-13Age 9-13
Published 2015Published 2015

On Grade Vocabulary:

Show more words [+]

Challenge Words Vocabulary

Show more words [+] View ALL Vocabulary Lessons

Book ISBN:

0803740166

Sample Book Reading logs and activities:
Graphic Organizers - Roller Girl

YEAH. Try it FREE!

Gitf box

Try our 14-day Free Trial to test drive
the booktaco program.

Sign up for a 14-Day Free Trial Not now, thank you
View all games!
Back to main site