Not Quite Narwhal

Hear it
By Jessie Sima
Publisher Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Not Quite Narwhal
Preview: Hear it

In the tradition of Uni the Unicorn and Gaston, this heartwarming and adorable debut picture book tells the story of a young unicorn who was born under the sea to a family of narwhals.Growing up in the ocean, Kelp has always assumed that he was a narwhal like the rest of his family. Sure, hes always been a little bit differenthis tusk isnt as long, hes not as good of a swimmer, and he really doesnt enjoy the cuisine. Then one night, an extra strong current sweeps Kelp to the surface, where he spots a mysterious creature that looks just like him! Kelp discovers that he and the creature are actually unicorns. The revelation leaves him torn: is he a land narwhal or a sea unicorn? But perhaps, if Kelp is clever, he may find a way to have the best of both worlds. Told with heartwarming illustrations and spare, sweet text, Jessie Simas debut picture book is about fitting in, standing out, and the allencompassing love of family.

Read full description [+]
446 words446 words
40 pages40 pages
Lexile AD590LLexile AD590L
Grade P to 3Grade P to 3
Age 4-8Age 4-8
Published 2017Published 2017

On Grade Vocabulary:

Challenge Words Vocabulary

View ALL Vocabulary Lessons

Book ISBN:

9781481469098

Sample Book Reading logs and activities:
Graphic Organizers - Not Quite Narwhal

YEAH. Try it FREE!

Gitf box

Try our 14-day Free Trial to test drive
the booktaco program.

Sign up for a 14-Day Free Trial Not now, thank you
View all games!
Back to main site