Listen, Slowly

Hear it
By Thanhha Lai
Publisher HarperCollins
Listen, Slowly
Preview: Hear it

Listen, Slowly is a New York Times Book Review Notable Book and a Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year! This remarkable and bestselling novel from Thanhha Lai, author of the National Book Awardwinning and Newbery Honor Book Inside Out & Back Again, follows a young girl as she learns the true meaning of family.A California girl born and raised, Mai cant wait to spend her vacation at the beach. Instead, she has to travel to Vietnam with her grandmother, who is going back to find out what really happened to her husband during the Vietnam War. Mais parents think this trip will be a great opportunity for their outoftouch daughter to learn more about her culture. But to Mai, those are their roots, not her own. Vietnam is hot, smelly, and the last place she wants to be. Besides barely speaking the language, she doesnt know the geography, the local customs, or even her distant relatives. To survive her trip, Mai must find a balance between her two completely different worlds.Perfect for fans of Rita WilliamsGarcia and Linda Sue Park, Listen, Slowly is an irresistibly charming and emotionally poignant tale about a girl who discovers that home and culture, family and friends, can all mean different things.This paperback edition includes a special letter from the author and a Vietnamese glossary and pronunciation guide.

Read full description [+]
61619 words61,619 words
288 pages288 pages
Lexile 800LLexile 800L
Grade 3 to 7Grade 3 to 7
Age 8-12Age 8-12
Published 2016Published 2016

On Grade Vocabulary:

Show more words [+]

Challenge Words Vocabulary

Show more words [+] View ALL Vocabulary Lessons

Book ISBN:

0062229192

Sample Book Reading logs and activities:
Graphic Organizers - Listen, Slowly

YEAH. Try it FREE!

Gitf box

Try our 14-day Free Trial to test drive
the booktaco program.

Sign up for a 14-Day Free Trial Not now, thank you
View all games!
Back to main site