Juana and Lucas

Hear it
By Juana Medina
Publisher Candlewick
Juana and Lucas
Preview: Hear it

Winner of the 2017 Pura Belpra Author AwardFans of Judy Moody and Clarice Bean will love Juana, the spunky young Colombian girl who stars in this playful, abundantly illustrated new series.Juana loves many things drawing, eating Brussels sprouts, living in Bogota, Colombia, and especially her dog, Lucas, the best amigo ever. She does not love wearing her itchy school uniform, solving math problems, or going to dance class. And she especially does not love learning the English. Why is it so important to learn a language that makes so little sense? But when Juanas abuelos tell her about a special trip they are planningone that Juana will need to speak English to go onJuana begins to wonder whether learning the English might be a good use of her time after all. Hilarious, energetic, and utterly relatable, Juana will win over los corazones the hearts of readers everywhere in her first adventure, presented by namesake Juana Medina.

Read full description [+]
6106 words6,106 words
96 pages96 pages
Lexile 870LLexile 870L
Grade K to 5Grade K to 5
Age 5-10Age 5-10
Published 2016Published 2016

On Grade Vocabulary:

Show more words [+]

Challenge Words Vocabulary

View ALL Vocabulary Lessons

Book ISBN:

0763672084

Sample Book Reading logs and activities:
Graphic Organizers - Juana and Lucas

YEAH. Try it FREE!

Gitf box

Try our 14-day Free Trial to test drive
the booktaco program.

Sign up for a 14-Day Free Trial Not now, thank you
View all games!
Back to main site