How to Avoid Extinction

Hear it
By Paul Acampora
Publisher Scholastic Inc.
How to Avoid Extinction
Preview: Hear it

For fans of Gary Schmidt and Joan Bauer, a laughoutloud intergenerational road trip story from acclaimed author Paul Acampora!Since the death of his grandfather, Leos number one chore has been to chase after his grandmother who seems to wander away from home every few days. Now, Grams decided to roam farther than ever. And despite his misgivings, Leos going along for the ride. With his seventeenyearold cousin, Abbey, and an old, gassy dog named Kermit, Leo joins Gram in a big, old Buick to leave their Pennsylvania home for a crosscountry road trip filled with foldout maps, family secrets, new friends, and dinosaur bones.How to Avoid Extinction is a middlegrade comedy about death and food and family and fossils. Its about running away from home and coming back again. For Leo, its about asking hard questions and hopefully finding some sensible answers. As if good sense has anything to do with it. Against a backdrop of Americas stunning size and beauty, its also about growing up, getting old, dreaming about immortality, and figuring out all the things we can and cant leave behind.

Read full description [+]
32323 words32,323 words
213 pages213 pages
Lexile 610LLexile 610L
Grade 3 to 7Grade 3 to 7
Age 8-12Age 8-12
Published 2016Published 2016

On Grade Vocabulary:

Show more words [+]

Challenge Words Vocabulary

Show more words [+] View ALL Vocabulary Lessons

Book ISBN:

9780545899086

Sample Book Reading logs and activities:
Graphic Organizers - How to Avoid Extinction

YEAH. Try it FREE!

Gitf box

Try our 14-day Free Trial to test drive
the booktaco program.

Sign up for a 14-Day Free Trial Not now, thank you
View all games!
Back to main site