Firefly Hollow

Hear it
By Alison McGhee
Publisher Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Firefly Hollow
Preview: Hear it

Firefly. Cricket. Vole. Peter. Can four creatures from four very different Nations help one another find their ways in the world that can feel ohsobig? Delve into this lush, unforgettable tale in the tradition of Charlottes Web and The Rats of NIMH, from the author of the New York Times bestselling Someday.Firefly doesnt merely want to fly, she wants to touch the moon. Cricket doesnt merely want to sing about baseball, he wants to catch. When these two little creatures with big dreams wander out of Firefly Hollow, refusing to listen to their elders, they find themselves facetoface with the one creature they were always told to stay away froma giant.But Peter is a Miniature Giant. Theyve always been told that a Miniature Giant is nothing but a Future Giant, but this one just isnt quite as big or as scary as the other Giants. Peter has a dream of his own, as well as memories to escape. He is overwhelmed with sadness, and a summer with his new unlikely friends Firefly and Cricket might be just what he needs. Can these friends dreams help them overcome the past?Firefly Hollow is nothing short of enchanting, reminding us all that the very best friend is the one who wants you to achieve your dreams. Fullcolor tipin illustrations and dozens of blackandwhite drawing provide added glow.

Read full description [+]
37514 words37,514 words
304 pages304 pages
Lexile 690LLexile 690L
Grade 3 to 7Grade 3 to 7
Age 8-12Age 8-12
Published 2015Published 2015

On Grade Vocabulary:

Show more words [+]

Challenge Words Vocabulary

Show more words [+] View ALL Vocabulary Lessons

Book ISBN:

1442423366

Sample Book Reading logs and activities:
Graphic Organizers - Firefly Hollow

YEAH. Try it FREE!

Gitf box

Try our 14-day Free Trial to test drive
the booktaco program.

Sign up for a 14-Day Free Trial Not now, thank you
View all games!
Back to main site