Castle Hangnail

Hear it
By Ursula Vernon
Publisher Puffin Books
Castle Hangnail
Preview: Hear it

From the creator of Dragonbreath comes a tale of witches, minions, and one fantastic castle, just right for fans of Roald Dahl and Tom Angleberger. When Molly shows up on Castle Hangnails doorstep to fill the vacancy for a wicked witch, the castles minions are understandably dubious. After all, she is twelve years old, barely five feet tall, and quite polite. (The minions are used to tall, demanding evil sorceresses with razorsharp cheekbones.) But the castle desperately needs a master or else the Board of Magic will decommission it, leaving all the minions without the home they love. So when Molly assures them she is quite wicked indeed (So wicked! REALLY wicked!) and begins completing the tasks required by the Board of Magic for approval, everyone feels hopeful. Unfortunately, it turns out that Molly has quite a few secrets, including the biggest one of all: that she isnt who she says she is. This quirky, richly illustrated novel is filled with humor, magic, and an unforgettable allstar cast of castle characters.

Read full description [+]
67711 words67,711 words
384 pages384 pages
Lexile 730LLexile 730L
Grade 3 to 7Grade 3 to 7
Age 8-12Age 8-12
Published 2016Published 2016

On Grade Vocabulary:

Show more words [+]

Challenge Words Vocabulary

Show more words [+] View ALL Vocabulary Lessons

Book ISBN:

0147512735

Sample Book Reading logs and activities:
Graphic Organizers - Castle Hangnail

YEAH. Try it FREE!

Gitf box

Try our 14-day Free Trial to test drive
the booktaco program.

Sign up for a 14-Day Free Trial Not now, thank you
View all games!
Back to main site