All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook

Hear it
By Leslie Connor
Publisher Katherine Tegen Books
All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook
Preview: Hear it

Junior Library Guild Selection * Kids Indie Next List PickFrom Leslie Connor, awardwinning author of Waiting for Normal and Crunch, comes a soaring and heartfelt story about love, forgiveness, and how innocence makes us all rise up. All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook is a powerful story, perfect for fans of Wonder and When You Reach Me.Elevenyearold Perry was born and raised by his mom at the Blue River Coed Correctional Facility in tiny Surprise, Nebraska. His mom is a resident on Cell Block C, and so far Warden Daugherty has made it possible for them to be together. That is, until a new district attorney discovers the truthand Perry is removed from the facility and forced into a foster home.When Perry moves to the outside world, he feels trapped. Desperate to be reunited with his mom, Perry goes on a quest for answers about her past crime. As he gets closer to the truth, he will discover that love makes people resilient no matter where they come from . . . but can he find a way to tell everyone what home truly means?

Read full description [+]
79964 words79,964 words
400 pages400 pages
Lexile 540LLexile 540L
Grade 3 to 7Grade 3 to 7
Age 8-12Age 8-12
Published 2016Published 2016

On Grade Vocabulary:

Show more words [+]

Challenge Words Vocabulary

Show more words [+] View ALL Vocabulary Lessons

Book ISBN:

0062333461

Sample Book Reading logs and activities:
Graphic Organizers - All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook

YEAH. Try it FREE!

Gitf box

Try our 14-day Free Trial to test drive
the booktaco program.

Sign up for a 14-Day Free Trial Not now, thank you
View all games!
Back to main site